Meyer Qualifies For National High School Finals Rodeo

Kassie Meyer from Blaisdell, a 10th- grade student at Stanley High School has earned a position on the ND state/provincial National High School rodeo team and will be traveling with fellow teammates to Rock Springs, WY, July 12th-18th to compete at the 67th annual National High School Finals Rodeo (NHSFR) in the Breakaway roping completion. The ND High School State Finals was held in Bowmen this past weekend, June 11th- 14th and features the top 24 cowboys and cowgirls, from all over the state, in each event. The weekend included 2 rounds of boys and girls cutting on Thursday, followed by a morning and an evening performance rodeo on both Friday and Saturday, and concluded with a short go rodeo on Sunday afternoon, including the weekend top 12 contestants. The top 4 cowboys and cowgirls, from this weekends events will earn a trip to the National High School Final Rodeo in Rock Springs, WY. The girls breakaway roping was tight race all the way through and came down to ½ a point on the final day, in the short go. Kassie Meyer, from Blaisdell came into the breakaway roping event in the 7th position with 34 points. She was 6 points away from 4th place and 19 points away from 1st place. Kassie won the first go round of the Finals with time of 2.99, earning her 10 points and moving her into the 4th place position. She placed 7th in the second go around with a 4.90, earning her 4 more points, which also earned 9 points for placing 2nd in the weekends average, missing first place by only 0.11 of a second. She came into the short go in the #2 position with 57 points, only 1.5 points away from first place. The first place cowgirl roped a 2.98 earning her 3rd place and only 8 points, which gave Kassie the lead by only ½ a point, and lead her to the first place position and declared her ND State Breakaway Champion. Kassie qualified for the Jr. High National Rodeo in 2013 in both breakaway and ribbon roping. She is the daughter of Curt and Summer Meyer. Featuring more than 1,500 contestants from 42 states, five Canadian Provinces and Australia, the NHSFR is the world’s largest rodeo.   Login or Subscribe to view full stories.

Hanson Joins Thrivent Financial

Kyle Hanson of Stanley has joined Thrivent Financial as a Financial Associate with the organization’s Northland Regional Financial Office and will be joining Lynn Grabow in the office located at 109 Main St. South. He can be reached at 628-2394. Hanson grew up in Stanley and graduated from SHS in the Class of 1991. He attended his first two years of college at Williston earning his associate of science in pre-engineering. He then attended NDSU and earned his bachelor’s degree in Industrial Engineering and Management. In 1995 Kyle married Marianne Donnelly from Ray and they have two children, Kaedyn age 15 and Mackenna age 13. He started working at Case in Fargo and worked in supervisory positions in a number of jobs until he moved to Rugby in 2002 to work for Rugby Manufacturing. He and his family moved to Stanley in 2007 when he took a job with Northrop. The job opportunity gave him a chance to move home and now after almost eight years, he looks forward to the move to Thrivent. Hanson says that he looks forward to the challenge and opportunity to try something new. Nearly two years ago Grabow asked him if he would consider the move to this new career, but at that point he says he wasn’t ready. However, last fall the pair talked about it again and he decided to start the process. After twenty years in manufacturing management he looks forward to the change as well as the opportunity to become more of a part of the community in which he lives. Hanson offers comprehensive financial strategies, personal customer service and a wide range of financial products. He says that his goal is to be a financial guide to help people live wisely with their assets and protect them for their future. He says that could be saving up for something important or planning for retirement. Planning tools available include an opportunity to help that client look at where they are today and determine if it will help them accomplish their future goals. The company and its associates work with their clients for the long-term, not just to sell them a product. Hanson’s joining Grabow is an opportunity to expand the client base as well as balance the workload and provide more services for existing clients. Hanson says that since starting, he has been reaching out to new people in a growing community and growing area. He says that the skills   Login or Subscribe to view full stories.

Parade Entries Welcomed

All businesses and organizations are welcomed to get their parade entry ready for this year. All classic vehicles and motorcycles are encouraged to join the parade. Parade is at 11:00 a.m. on July 4th and will start and set up at the Railroad Depot area. Anyone with questions is encouraged to contact Skip Wing, Steve Springan, or Gary Evans. All World War II Veterans are the honorary Grand Marshal’s for this year’s parade. All WWII Vets please meet at the Railroad Depot.   Login or Subscribe to view full stories.

Fern Earns President’s Volunteer Service Award

Stanley’s Pat Fern has been awarded the President’s Volunteer Service Award by President Barack Obama. Awarded by the President of the United States, the award is given to individuals that have volunteered over 40,000 hours to improve or better their communities. Pat’s award comes for the year 2012. The award says, “With grateful recognition the Corporation for National and Community Service and the office of the President of the United States Honors PAT FERN with the President’s Lifetime Achievement Award for their lifelong commitment to building a stronger nation through volunteer service.” The award was accompanied by a special pin and letter signed by President Barack Obama. Fern is a licensed Social Worker with Mountrail County Social Services. Her dedicated work with the Stanley Women of Today is among her many service hours.   Login or Subscribe to view full stories.

Movies in the Park

It’s that time of year again! Our local DECA Chapter will be hosting movies in the park again this summer. Starting June 25th at dusk in the park near the pool, a screen will be set up along with some concessions for the community to enjoy! Every Thursday we will have a movie playing. Here’s the list of movies we have planned for the summer: June 25th: Forrest Gump: PG-13 July 2nd: Fast and Furious 6: PG-13 July 9th: Despicable Me: PG July 16th: Finding Nemo: G July 23rd: The Sandlot: PG July 30th: The Blindside: PG-13 August 6th: Avengers: PG-13   Login or Subscribe to view full stories.